Home / Research / Overview of NS
                  Overview of Natural Sciences

                  Since the 12th Five-Year Plan period (2011-2015), XTU has more than 2,380 newly-added various Hunan provincial vertical natural scientific research projects since the 12th Five-Year Plan period (2011-2015), with a total project funding of 500 million CNY. They are key projects of the National Natural Science Foundation, major national science and technology sub-projects, national 973 plan preliminary research projects, national 863 plan projects, national military product supporting projects, national defense technology basic projects, Hunan major science and technology projects, and other important projects of Hunan Province. It has carried out research cooperation and exchanges with enterprises and public institutions from over 140 districts, counties, and cities of nearly 30 provinces (municipalities directly under the central government and autonomous regions), and signed 2,210 contracts on horizontal research and industry-university-research cooperation of Hunan province, with a contracted value of over 200 million CNY.

                  It has been granted with 87 science and technology awards of different types. Among them, 58 were presented to the projects that were presided over by the university as the independent or primary implementer.

                  The university has applied for 3,144 patents in various areas of intellectual property (including 2,233 invention patents), among which 1,495 has been authorized (including 786 invention patents). A total of 6,188 papers have been published on SCIE, EI, CPCI-S, and CSCD journals. The citation frequency of the SCIE-indexed papers ranked about 75th and that of highly cited papers on ESI ranked about 50th throughout the country.

                  There are 69 research institutes of natural science in the university, including 4 at national level, 29 at provincial or ministerial level, 10 at prefectural or departmental level, and 26 at university level. More than 30 cooperative platforms have been jointly established with enterprises, such as industry-university-research cooperation base, industry research institute, innovative industrial park, and independent innovation park. Four innovation teams of the Ministry of Education, 4 innovation research teams of Hunan Provincial Natural Science Foundation and 6 scientific and technological innovation teams of Hunan universities have been established.

                  For more info please visit XTU Office of Science and Technology.